“Pizza” Flax Crackers

 

2017-08-07 15.02.18

Early last month I attended the IRCH Summer School weekend which is part of the required contact hours for the Herbalism course I am following with them.  As it is only down the road (about a 20-25 minute drive through rural North Devon and Cornwall) the Director of Studies asked me to help with some setting up and provide some food.

Nutrition is part of the Naturopathy module for the course and knowing that many of my fellow students are quite specific about their diets I opted to provide some of these as a savoury item.

They went down very well and went very quickly.

They are also appreciated at home. As I was making some today I thought I’d put the recipe I use here – I can’t find a link to the one I originally worked from I’m afraid.

Ingredients

I cup flax seed

1/2 cup sunflower seeds (soaked in water for at least an hour, drained and rinsed)

1/2 large red bell pepper (capsicum) chopped

1tsp dried oregano

1 tsp dried thyme

1 tsp dried basil

3-4 cloves of garlic peeled and slightly crushed

Good squeeze of tomato puree

generous pinch of sea salt

Instructions

Grind half of the flax seed and mix with the whole seeds. Soak these for an hour in 1 1/4 cups of filtered water. Stir after about 15 minutes to make sure all seeds are absorbing liquid

2017-08-07 15.02.27

Put all ingredients in a food processor bowl and blitz until well mixed and sticky looking.

Spread out on dehydrator covered with baking sheet. This volume covers two of the trays of my round dehydrator.

Dehydrate at 35C initially for 24 hours. Check about half way and turn and remove sheet if able.

At 24 hours cut into slices. Dry for up to another 24 hours if needed. They should be crisp. As they dry the cracker will thin out.

These can also be dried in a very low oven, again on a baking sheet. Parchment or greaseproof baking paper won’t work as it will stick to the crackers.

Enjoy!

2017-08-07 15.29.19

Leave a Reply

