Salted Buckwheat and Tahini Chocolate Chip Cookies

These sound yummy. I’m always on the lookout for other ways to use Tahini. Rather partial to it as the 5kg tub attests. I usually reduce the sugar in recipes and I will probably do so with this recipe, even though it is coconut sugar. Increasingly I prefer my “sweet treats” not so sweet.  I also used buckwheat groats that had been soaked, sprouted and dried for my flour.

prairie.notes

I should call these the heatstroke cookies. Have you ever had heatstroke? I guess I don’t know if my condition truly was real, diagnosable heat-stroke. But, either way, I so asked for it. Non-diagnosed heatstroke is what you get when the meteorologists predict it will be the warmest day of the summer in Iowa, and you wake up at 6am to do your 6-mile fartlek run and core, then you have a garden work session from 8:30am-12:30pm, a quick break to shower, grab lunch, lug your hamper three streets away to do laundry, and back to work at the farmers’ market, lugging tents and what-not from 2:30pm-6:30pm (its 105 degrees F by now). You drink coconut water and the contents of about 6 nalgenes, but you still develop a thumping headache and an awful stomach ache where all you can do to not puke up your kale, tomato, and basil…

View original post 593 more words

Leave a Reply

