Easter Biscuits

2017-04-15 16.52.42Well it’s that time of year again in the Christian calendar. Although these are called Easter Biscuits they work well at any time of the year. I like them at Yule and they would have worked well at Spring Equinox (Ostara) had I got myself organised in time.  Living in North Devon I am also aware that these are a traditional treat down here and I apologise in advance to any purists.

I have a couple of recipes for these and neither is gluten-free, so this year I decided to adapt a recipe so I didn’t go without.

I worked from the Celtnet recipe that was originally released on Dyfed Lloyd Evans site.  The particular version that I printed off in 2011 is no longer on the original site so I have linked to the recipe as it now appears on his blog.

I also didn’t want to spend lots of time shopping for ingredients so I’ve improvised a little.

Ingredients

100g butter

75g caster sugar

1 egg, separated

175g gluten free plain flour

50g ground almonds or desiccated coconut

pinch of salt

rounded 1/2 tsp mixed spice (pumpkin pie spice)

rounded 1/2 tsp ground cinnamon

50g raisins or currants

2tbsps orange marmalade

1tbsp milk (I actually used milk kefir)

additional caster sugar for sprinkling.

 

Method

Preheat oven to 190C (350/375F, Gas 5)

Cream butter and sugar together until light and fluffy. Add the egg yolk and beat in to combine.

Sift in the flour, almonds or coconut, salt and spices and mix thoroughly. Add the raisins, milk and marmalade.  Mix together well. The dough should be soft.

Leave to stand for an hour or so. If too wet add a little extra flour and turn out onto a floured surface.

Knead lightly and roll out to about 5mm thick. Cut into 5cm rounds with a fluted pastry cutter and transfer to well-greased baking sheets.

Back in preheated oven for about 10 minutes and remove. Brush with lightly beaten egg white and sprinkle a little caster sugar on each one.

Return the biscuits to the oven and bake for a further five minutes (this stage can be achieved having turned the oven off) or until the tops are golden brown.

Allow to cool on the tray and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

 

These taste and smell great even though my first batch were a little overcooked. They are suitably crunchy and crumbly with a bit of a melt in the mouth texture too.

Leave a Reply

