Easy Lemon and Cardamom Truffles

This recipe was inspired by a coconut, lemon and cardamom cake which always goes down well. However a few days back I wanted to experience these flavours but didn’t have the time or inclination to fiddle with melting coconut cream and then work out the egg substitutes for a vegan guest.

So back to the trusty food processor and a raw truffle version.

Throw all of the following into your food processor and process together until you reach the desired consistency. My food processor is somewhat ancient so my result was quite chunky.

2016-09-10-15-17-36

 

Ingredients

1 cup shredded coconut

1 cup cashews (soaked for 1-2 hours)

1/2 cup ground almonds

2-3 tsps ground cardamom

juice and rind of one lemon or lime (rind is optional)

6 medjool dates

1tsp vanilla extract

 

Once you have your desired texture form into walnut size balls, or slightly smaller.

Mine were slightly sticky so after the obligatory initial tasting I popped them on my dehydrator overnight at 35C.

Very tasty and flavour-wise at least just what I was looking for at the time. I still have a few although I’m not sure how that has happened.

 

Update:

I took the remaining dozen or so to a party. They were very well received and declared delicious.

 

Leave a Reply

