“Raw(ish)” Peanut Butter Brownie

I recently found a recipe online for Vegan Salted Caramel Peanut Butter Brownies which sounded divine.

I haven’t yet got round to making them.  One of the principal ingredients in the recipe is medjool dates.  I much prefer to use my medjool dates in uncooked recipes where I can enjoy their wonderful, caramel-like, sweet gooiness to the full.

So, inspired by Amy Levin’s Biscotti recipe and explanation of her development process I decided to try a largely raw peanut butter brownie recipe2016-08-02 11.07.32

It’s gooey but not wet, slightly sticky and richly flavoured. It seems like a decadent treat that contains some rather healthy ingredients.  I’m rather impressed with myself.

Ingredients 

1/4 cup coconut oil

1/2 cup crunchy peanut butter (I use Meridian’s salt and sugar free)

1/3 cup coconut sugar

1/4 psyllium husk

2tsps vanilla extract

1 cup ground almonds

1/2 cup cacao powder

1/3 tsp sea salt

4 medjool dates

1/2 cup sprouted buckwheat

1/4 to 1/2 cup filtered water

Instructions

Add all ingredients, except the water, to your food processor bowl and pulse and blend until reasonably consistent. It will be fairly dry and crumb-like.

Add 1/4 cup water and blend again. The crumbs should be smaller and starting to stick together. Add the rest of the water and blend again. 2016-08-02 10.19.03

The mixture should now be paste-like. Although it looks wet it actually isn’t. Leave to stand for a few minutes before scraping into your lined tin to press down.

When making these bars I like to line my tine with greaseproof or baking paper to stop the mix sticking to the tin and make it easier to get out and transfer to a chopping board.

Press down into tin. Yes I do use my hands and have to resist the temptation to lick my fingers until I’m finished.

2016-08-02 11.01.27

2016-08-02 11.06.53

 

Cut into desired size pieces.

To make these truly decadent you could try adding a salted caramel type topping such as the one in the recipe that originally inspired me (see the top of the page)

Enjoy with coffee or without. In fact just enjoy!

All blessings xx

 

P.S. These have been given a total thumbs-up by our resident teenager who would be very happy to have her own personal supply which she doesn’t have to share with anyone. She nearly snatched the tub off me when I offered her a second one.

Leave a Reply

