PBP Week 15 – H is for Hedgerow Edibles

An older post from a previous blog project which sort of fits in here too.

My Bardic Year

Well I looked at the prompts for this week and decided there wasn’t anything on the list I felt I could write about, let alone, even though I’ve been on annual leave from work, have time to research in order to make a decent job of it.

And then ………

We went for a family walk on a sunny afternoon.

This time of year in terms of local and seasonal cultivated foods is sometimes referred to as “The Hungry Gap” and so thoughts turn to other ways to find green vegetables if you prefer not to buy lots of imported foods and your local grocer doesn’t have a ready supply. This is when, living in the countryside, my thoughts turn to foraging. I come from a long line of blackberry pickers so I’m no stranger to looking at what can be got for free.

SAM_2694 Primroses and wild strawberries

Aha!

And…

View original post 337 more words

Leave a Reply

