Amy’s Veggie Burgers (V1.0)

I have played with my diet in many ways over the years. I have been completely vegetarian, I’ve tried paleo, veganism, looked at macrobiotics, eaten gluten free and of course lived on what most would consider a conventional Western omnivorous diet.

Generally I’ve changed my diet for my health, more recently I’ve changed my diet for healing as well. I like the idea of food as medicine and also that producing some of your own or foraging some of your own can be highly therapeutic too. I like responding to my body’s needs and listening to what it will and won’t tolerate and adjusting my diet accordingly.

In recent years, possibly the last five, I’ve been introduced to “Raw” and it feels good. There are many raw teachers and coaches. Raw food isn’t all gourmet cakes and fiddly things. For me it’s about whole and ideally living foods, minimally processed and incredibly tasty and nutritious.

Food to enjoy, above all. And food that makes people on a more conventional diet go “Gosh that looks good, can I try some!”

So here is my first recipe offering. I’ve adapted a Karen Knowler recipe as I wanted my burgers to have more veg and less nuts. I’ve used readily available root veg and sprouted pulses in place of more expensive nuts. I’ll post my nut burger variation at a later date and am currently working on an all veg version.2016-06-02 17.23.24

You will need.

Chopping board

Knife

Food processor

Dehydrator (if not available use your oven on the lowest setting with the door open)

 

Ingredients

2 cups mixed carrot and parsnip

1 cup sprouted lentils (some instructions here if you haven’t done this before)

1/2 cup shelled hemp seeds

1/2 cup ground flaxseed

1/2 onion

1/4 cup lemon juice

pinch of salt

herbs and/or spices to taste (I like to use cumin, coriander and mint with a touch of chilli and black pepper – but find your own happy)

Instructions

First sprout your lentils – this will take two to three days. The purpose behind sprouting them is to make them a living food packed with enzymes and micro-nutrients and remove the phytic acid component which can inhibit absorption of nutrients.

Add all ingredients to the bowl of your food processor and process until you get a relatively well mixed mass. As you can see from the picture above we are not going for a smooth uniform puree, slightly rough and chunky is good.

Taste it and adjust seasonings.  If you wish you can leave the herbs and spices out of the initial mix and add at this point.

Shape into burger shapes. I find a couple of spoonfuls squished in my hand and then patted into shape about the right size. You may be surprised how filling these can be.

Dehydrate at 35C for 8 hours then turn and check (or 40C for 6 hours).  If you are using an oven check after a couple of hours.  Your temperature is likely to be higher than the above so you may only need a few hours in total.

Turn and dehydrate for a further 10-12 hours.

This will make about 12 which can be frozen or stored in the refrigerator in an airtight box.

I’d love to know how you get on.  This recipe can be varied depending on preferences and availability of veggies.

One thought on “Amy’s Veggie Burgers (V1.0)

  1. Pingback: Lentil and Walnut Burgers | HedgeRaw, Holistics and Herbs

Leave a Reply

